Erasmus+ programme policy

In 2014, the new European Union (EU) support programme for education, training, youth and sport called Erasmus+ was initiated.

It replaced several previous EU support programmes covering all scopes of education – lifelong learning programme Erasmus (for higher education), Leonardo da Vinci (for vocational education and training), Comenius (for schools), Grundtvig (for adult education), Youth in Action, etc.

Within Erasmus+, the EU for the first time offers support for sport, especially, for grassroots sport.

The programme is financed by the European Commission, and the implementation period of the programme is 2014–2020.

Erasmus+ member countries are divided into programme countries and partner countries.

Erasmus+ Europe countries

27 EU member states - Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Sweden.

European Economic Area member states - Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway.

EU candidate countries and potential candidates: North Macedonia, Republic of Türkiye and Republic of Serbia.

Erasmus+ World countries

RTU within Erasmus+ programme cooperates with more than 70 universities from Albania, Algeria, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Egypt, Honduras, India, Jordan, Kosovo, Libya, Malaysia, Morocco, Nepal, Panama, Russia, Serbia, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, the Unites States of America, Tunisia, and Ukraine.

RTU is mainly implementing projects connected with mobility for educational reasons. RTU deals with both students and staff going for motilities and also welcomes students and staff from higher educational institutions from programme and partner countries.

Mobility within Latvia, Erasmus+ project of RTU is not supporting.

RTU is awarded Erasmus Charter for Higher Education until 2027.

Erasmus Charter for Higher Education is a document issued by the European Commission that ensures RTU participation in the programme. The Erasmus Charter for Higher Education provides the quality framework for Erasmus+ funded activities carried out by an institution.

RTU Erasmus ID code: LV RIGA02

RTU PIC number: 999920718

Erasmus Charter for Higher Education

European Policy Statement

General information on the Erasmus+ programme can also be found on the webpage of the European Commission and on the webpage of State Education and Development Agency, Erasmus+ Programme Guide.