RTU and International Partners Start Working on Formation of the European University of Technology

3rd of December, 2020

On 1 November 2020, Riga Technical University (RTU), in conjunction with seven other universities from different European countries, officially started developing its proposal for the creation of a uniform European University of Technology (EUt+) with the support of the European Commission.

The International Projects Unit (IPU) of RTU International Cooperation and Foreign Students Department has created a video message about the official start of this activity with the aim of promoting EUt+ among RTU students, employees and international partners, and informing about the need for establishing this alliance, fostering international competitiveness and promoting the involvement of the above-mentioned target groups in various consortium activities.

Watch video.

RTU IPU, together with its international partners, has formulated the following activities within the framework of EUt+, all of which foresee an active involvement of various administrative and academic units of RTU: formulating the EUt+ position within the university's long-term strategy; promoting mobility of students and staff among the alliance's partners and aligning the content of engineering education at the European Union level.

With efficient planning and implementation of the above-mentioned organizational matters in mind, RTU IPU organized the first European University Breakfast Meeting in October 2020, during which representatives from RTU, University of Latvia, Art Academy of Latvia, Vidzeme University of Applied Sciences and the Ministry of Education and Science shared good practices and knowledge on implementing projects with international partners. During the meeting the parties also discussed possible cooperation mechanisms at both national and international level, involving partners from other European countries Latvian higher education institutions are collaborating with within the European Universities initiative.

In order to obtain a more in-depth insight into the strategic and organizational matters of the EUt+ creation process, RTU IPU invites you to watch the recording of the International Education/European University Initiative Section of the 61st RTU International Scientific Conference.

Part 1.

Part 2.

The eight members involved in the creation of the EUt+ alliance are: RTU, University of Technology of Troyes (France), Technological University Dublin (Ireland), Technical University of Sofia (Bulgaria), Cyprus University of Technology (Cyprus), Hochschule Darmstadt: University of Applied Sciences (Germany), Technical University of Cluj-Napoca (Romania) and Polytechnic University of Cartagena (Spain).

6.25 million EUR have been allocated for the implementation of the project.

Share article

Article information

Article published

3rd of December, 2020 at 11:01

Similar news


Latest news